Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Setting up a residential VPN
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Setting up a residential VPN

Hello,

I'm rather new to this world.

I'm looking for information detailing the specifics and implications of setting up a VPN server on my computer using my ISP IP address.

I understand I can just set up an Open VPN server?

Are there alternatives?

What encryption should I concern myself with?

How many people can connected to my server?

Can I prove that I don't log?

I would also appreciate general information about this.

Such as server maintenance and possible legal liability.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• I'd recommend OpenVPN. If you have static IP brilliant just configure port forwarding on your router and done.

Dynamic? Either you can use a dynamic DNS service or chain the VPNs together.

How many people can connect? What server do you have?

Encryption? The higher the more secure 4096 bits is good.

Do you need to prove you can't log?

• Thanks for your response.

I intended to configure my windows 10 1TB laptop as a server. Is that not feasible?

What would you recommend?

Not sure how many people I can connect. Does my ISP dictate this?

Thanks for the encryption advice.

I don't need to prove I can't log, it was just a side thought.

• @Notmebro said:
    Thanks for your response.

I intended to configure my windows 10 1TB laptop as a server. Is that not feasible?

oh no summer vpn host lol