Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Questions about SolusVM by a non-provider
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Questions about SolusVM by a non-provider

DStroutDStrout Member
edited March 2013 in General

As the title says, I'm not a provider, nor do I intend to be. As there are lots on here, though, I was hoping I could learn a little about the ever popular SolusVM.

• Generally speaking, how does it work on the admin side? What can it do (other than (re)booting/shutdown/add/delete VMs, of course)?
  • How does it integrate with WHMCS/HostBill/whatever? API, presumably?
  • Are there any alternatives? It seems to literally be the sole program for the purpose.
  • I've heard many times that SVM does not support assigning IPv6 subnets (/64 and such). Is that true? If so, why?

... And anything else interesting. I just want to know more about the VPS manager I use daily. (That is, more than the website's marketing-oriented jibber-jabber I get)

Comments

1. It does pretty much just that... generally speaking. Aside from that you can manage templates, view node details, manage IPs, etc...
    2. There's an API for it and a WHMCS module.
    3. Yes there are a few alternatives. We use hypervm, but will be switching to joepie91's cvm shortly.
    4. SolusVM doesn't support assigning subnets because to the best of my knowledge they haven't setup Veth for their openvz control panels to support it. There may be other reasons...
  • This may be getting more in to the underlying virtualization technologies, but how do OS templates work?

• BlueVMBlueVM Member
    edited March 2013