Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What we can do with a 128mb vps
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What we can do with a 128mb vps

CyberdigitalCyberdigital Member
edited June 2016 in General

Hello i am new to vps usage. I use vps only for webhosting and nothing more. I always see offers like 128mb vps for few bucks. Till now i could figure out only one use and that is vpn for one person. But i am interested to know what else we can do with it.

Hosting a website seems difficult to me as all the sharedhosting i use give me 2gb ram per account. Maybe cpu is more here.

Can we host a wordpress blog with 2000-3000 hits per month on such a 128mb server?

UPDATES:-
Usage listed till now
1. VPN
2. Low usage wordpress (seems difficult)
3. Flat file system websites
4. Teamspeak server
5. Proxy
6. Backup files
7. small php scripts

Comments

• Cyberdigital said: Can we host a wordpress blog with 2000-3000 hits per month on such a 128mb server?

If you run your MySQL database elsewhere, or switch to a flat file system blog it should work great. This does however depend on what plugins you have, some of the more popular ones are very poorly designed.

Thanked by 1Cyberdigital
  • @linuxthefish said:

Cyberdigital said: Can we host a wordpress blog with 2000-3000 hits per month on such a 128mb server?

If you run your MySQL database elsewhere, or switch to a flat file system blog it should work great. This does however depend on what plugins you have, some of the more popular ones are very poorly designed.

I thought so. But can you tell me whats the use of using a server with 256mb or 512mb ram when shared hosting gives 2gb ram. I know i/o will be more with vps but for a website like wordpress i/o matters more or ram?