Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Why does KVM cost more than OpenVZ?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Why does KVM cost more than OpenVZ?

onedosfanonedosfan Member
edited April 2016 in General

I'm new to the LowEnd world so please forgive my ignorance.

In general, why does KVM cost more than OpenVZ? Many times, it's double or triple the cost of OpenVZ servers with similar advertised specifications.

Comments

• I'm no expert on this, but I believe it is because KVM is dedicated to each user, while OpenVZ can be oversold, and all the users share the resources.

• NyrNyr Community Contributor, Veteran

OVZ has way less overhead since it's just a glorified jail and overselling is easy.

KVM can be over provisioned too, but it's more a matter of overhead since you need to fully virtualize the environment for each server.

Simply said, you can put more customers/load per server with OpenVZ than KVM.

You should also consider that for many reasons, OpenVZ shouldn't be considered production ready for many tasks, but this is a different matter.

Thanked by 1sugeng
  • @onedosfan said: why does KVM cost more than OpenVZ?

Why Dedicated Server cost more than VPS?

Thanked by 1linuxthefish
  • BradBrad Member

@budi1413 said:

@onedosfan said: why does KVM cost more than OpenVZ?

Why Dedicated Server cost more than VPS?

Now you're just comparing apples to oranges.

• 2 major reasons.

1. KVM comes with higher overhead, which means it will use up more resource under exact same condition.