Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to navigate and edit files in Putty
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

How to navigate and edit files in Putty

Special1Special1 Member
edited April 2016 in Help

Dear community!

I am new to Putty commands and I need some help. I have installed Wordpress app on Vultr server. Now I am trying to access my Wordpress files through Putty program.

I am trying to get and modify wp-config.php. How would I do that?

I typed "ls" in my Putty and I got this:

Could you tell me what commands should I do next to get to wp-config.php file?

I appreciate your help!

Comments

• KuJoeKuJoe Member, Host Rep

Run this command to find the wp-config.php file if you don't know where it is:
    find /home/ | grep wp-config.php

• Special1Special1 Member
    edited April 2016

@KuJoe said:
    Run this command to find the wp-config.php file if you don't know where it is:
    find /home/ | grep wp-config.php

Thx for fast reply. I got nothing after I pressed enter:

• TheOnlyDKTheOnlyDK Member
    edited April 2016

You need to learn about Linux and bash before managing your own server, not knowing what you are doing is very dangerous.

To answer your question, the wordpress install is probably in public_html folder, so "cd" (change directory) in to that and you can see the file (default there isn't one, it would be called wp-config-example.php or something similar). You can use nano/vi/vim to open the file, google on how to use those if you have no idea.

• You can also run nano or vi to edit the file once you know its location. For example, if the file is located at /home/user/public_html/wp-config.php:

nano /home/user/public_html/wp-config.php

edited April 2016

@TheOnlyDK said: