Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need dedicated/resource pool with 24/32GB RAM for my bachelor's thesis
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Need dedicated/resource pool with 24/32GB RAM for my bachelor's thesis

ShigawireShigawire Member
edited March 2016 in Requests

Hello together,

I am just beginning my bachelor's thesis, for which I need a machine that has at least 32 Gigabyte of RAM.

I am planning to integrate an Elasticsearch cluster and other fancy stuff that likes eating RAM for breakfast.

Unfortunately, I don't have access to a machine with so much memory and my university is very unflexible with providing hardware - apart from that I am not sure if they even have a place with 32GB of unused RAM.

I don't need a dedi, but I must be able to split up the resources into smaller parts, i.e. VMs.
I need no/not much network performancd at all.

Alas, using Pay as you go services that don't bill resources when the machines are turned off won't work. This is going to be a 60hours per week project, probably more, so it will become expensive quickly.

In the name of research, are there any ideas how to get away with this relatively low costs?

I would need these resources for a bit more than two months. I like the online.net servers, but the setup fees are a little bit the deal breaker here.

Comments

• RyanDRyanD Member

Seems to be exactly what you need

https://www.wholesaleinternet.net/cart/?id=277

Dual Xeon E5, 32GB ram, 240GB ssd - $49/month

• @RyanD said:
    Seems to be exactly what you need

https://www.wholesaleinternet.net/cart/?id=277

Dual Xeon E5, 32GB ram, 240GB ssd - $49/month

Wow. Well, that's definitely a nice deal. But dual E5 and only 32G,does that go together?