Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GoDaddy enters the LEB market - Page 2
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

GoDaddy enters the LEB market

2»

Comments

• NyrNyr Community Contributor, Veteran

FredQc said: Psych Network build a new datacenter in Ashburn

Nah, they are just renting some space.

• HxxxHxxx Member

I actually see this as positive news. As a web dev I've seen many customers truly attached to godaddy's brand and won't let go. Well to be fair at least they have 24/7 customer support via phone, you know ... for the people that like to talk worthless stuff with representatives via phone. Them providing a service similar to Linode/DO/Vultr, is a good thing. Now let's see how these perform when the servers get oversold.

• rds100rds100 Member
    edited March 2016

So are these $5/mo VPSes fully managed? Considering godaddy's current customer base (i.e. mostly non-technical folks), i don't know how would they use a VPS without a lot of hand holding.

• chrispchrisp Member
    edited March 2016

Nyr said: It's a mayor hub.

The name is not as flashy as New York City

Indeed, Ashburn sounds like some random city. After googling a bit I even found that book about Ashburn as a location. I think after reading it I will want a vps there, but definitely not with GoDaddy.

"Tubes: A Journey To The Center Of The Internet"

• I bought my first domain at Godaddy !

• aglodekaglodek Member
    edited March 2016

@tommy said: Who believe Godaddy as hosting provider?

Mostly people who have 50 million+ domains registered through GoDaddy. Only danger of failure here is most of their customers' lack of technical acumen to manage a VPS. It will be interesting to see how they plan to make this work.

• @tommy said: