Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Looking for linux dedicated server with 1-2gb RAM billed yearly
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Looking for linux dedicated server with 1-2gb RAM billed yearly

Hello everyone, first post here

I'm looking for a yearly billed linux dedicated server with 1-2gb ram. The servers I want to run are not too resource demanding

Preferred price is $20-$50. Either I would buy 1 with a fair amount of resources in terms of RAM and CPU. Or two with 512mb-1gb depending on the specs and price. For one with good specs I'm willing to pay up to $70 for a year

One question I have though, as I am new to the dedicated server hosting stuff. Is what is the difference between Virtual Private Server and a dedicated server? Is one just for webhosting whereas the other runs an actual operating system?

Thanks for any and all help

(if I have not posted in the correct category apologies and maybe a moderator can move it to the correct one)

Comments

• BradBrad Member
    edited February 2016

Welcome to LET!

To answer your question:

With a dedicated server, as the name implies, all resources are dedicated to you and only you. In a typical VPS environment, the provider will not allow you to max your 1Gbps port 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Same can go for CPU usage.

If your app is hungry for resources such as CPU and network, you will be better off with a dedicated server. If it's just a light webserver, you're fine with a solid VPS. Both run an actual operating system and can probably host the same things. The differences are the resources and usually price.

As for your request, do you have a location preference?

• Thank you for your answer

I'd prefer the United States