Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What are your expecations?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What are your expecations?

I'm not new to hosting in general, but mostly I've been a client, with some experiences helping providers along the way. Mostly, I'm an administrator. I've been running some personal websites for about a decade now (yikes... I'm getting older eh?) and I've been through many, many, many, many different hosts. Did I mention I've been through a couple?

Some have been terrible. Some have been incredible. Some have surprised me: both good and bad surprises. All I ever really wanted was communication and people to be reasonable. Some hosts promise the world and under-deliver.

To me, that's a tell-tale sign of a poor provider. If a provider has bad news, or no news, say about a downtime issue, I'd rather hear the honest situation than be fed lines.

As I said in my introduction post, I'm going to be launching a tiny startup, so I'd like to send some feelers out into the LET world and hear what you guys (and gals!) want from a host.

My goal for this startup is that I'd like it to be more community-based than the typical company/customer model. More of a co-op.

TL;DR: what are your top expectations/wish from a provider?

Comments

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

DedicatedPi said: My goal for this startup is that I'd like it to be more community-based than the typical company/customer model. More of a co-op.

When this has been tried in the past, it's been abused. It's better to set fair prices and let people sign up as a business relationship, just like any other host, even if you are focused on the LET community. Market it to us but don't trust us :-)

Thanked by 2ThracianDog lazyt