Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How is the VPS market doing, new host advice?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

How is the VPS market doing, new host advice?

BitVigorBitVigor Member
edited February 2016 in Providers

Howdy! I finally got invited for a Beta Test over at VirtKick and I'm excited to try it out. Before I dump a ton of time into the platform and web design, is there any market out there for a new VPS Provider? I'm a software developer who has been sysadmining Linux servers for several years now (SSH, bash scripting, Python development, compile my own kernels kind - not the cPanel/Plesk script kiddie kind - no offense :D ).

Some things I'm thinking about:

100% Intel & SSD servers.

1Gbit/500Mbit burst/stable network.

Zendesk integration across website, Twitter, Facebook.

Included Anti-DDoS protection (500Gbit capacity).

2x 480GB SSD RAID 1 per server.

Offsite daily backups of the cluster.

No WHMCS or other garbage.

Full KVM.

North America/Europe Datacentres.

So far on a newly spawned VPS on the platform, I'm hitting:

2510 Unixbench.

279Mb/s IO.

89Mb/s network (Cachefly edge).

This is on an Intel Xeon E5-1630v3 with 32GB of RAM - 512MB RAM 1 Core VPS planned at $10/mo.

I thought I may have a chance since Vultr has been switching over to Xeon D-1540s which average 1,700 on Unixbench if I wanted to target the performance centric crowds. I'm keeping RAM and SSD space low on each server to prevent overselling (well with KVM it's not that possible anyway regarding RAM).

That puts about 30-40 customers on each server (if all customers go for the 512MB plan). I figured that with the higher RAM and SSD Space plans would equate to less customers per server = more CPU Performance overall per node: