Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

OpenVPN - DNS Enquiry
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

OpenVPN - DNS Enquiry

Hello, people.

So... I've been a visitor to LET for a while, and have learnt an incredible amount over the last several years - so thanks! Now for a question of my own - I'm hoping that somebody can help, or at the very least point me in the right direction.

So, here's the situation. I'm pretty new to the entire concept of OpenVPN - I was made aware of the script that @nyr developed a while ago, but wanted to give the whole installation process a go from scratch so over the weekend started the (somewhat long) task on an idle server. Surprisingly, the majority went well (I can totally ping remote hostnames and everything!), but there are a couple of questions that I haven't been able to figure out the answers to.

During the process of carrying out some research into the Community edition of OpenVPN, it came apparent that several guides suggested that for additional security, a local resolver in the shape of dnsmasq should be installed. From then on, the user could manually define a set of DNS servers that dnsmasq could use to resolve hostnames, and then point the OpenVPN server config at the local interface that dnsmasq is listening on. In theory, does this method mean that when connected to the VPN that no client requests would be seen by external DNS servers, and that only the IP of the VPN would send requests? What would be the difference (if any at all) of pushing a set of resolvers to the client directly, rather than providing them with the dnsmasq local interface in the server config?