Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What need to learn to manage a hosting server?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What need to learn to manage a hosting server?

ali71ali71 Member

I have dream of owning a hosting company. I know it's a bad dream, there are plenty of hosting company, but I just want to learn it.

Now, my question is which subjects of networking I need to learn to manage a hosting server. I already know linux, I have been using ubuntu desktop for 4 years. I know few basic networking. I know how to work with vps.

Thanks

Comments

• @ali71 said:
    I already know linux, I have been using ubuntu desktop for 4 years.

Nope, no you don't. Just like a Windows user can't do shit on a Windows Server.

• cPanel
    Linux (desktop and GUI doesn't cut it)
    Networking / Routing
    Virtualisation platforms
    SolusVM
    DNS
    Configuration management software e.g. Ansible
    Billing platforms

Here are just some things you'd need to know.

Thanked by 1ali71
  • Live and learn, $$$$$ talks you don't have to know anything to OWN a hosting company you just need to have the $$$$$. I'm sure for a competitive salary of lets say 60k-70k/year you can have a pretty good sysadmin.

Thanked by 1ali71
  • ricardoricardo Member
    edited October 2015

Yeah, I feel pretty humble but have been in web development/programming for about 15 years. There's 70+ years of computer science in the making, millions of pages of documentation and billions of lines of code, all doing arbitrary things. No one knows it all or even a small fraction of it. Experts in one field aren't experts in another.