Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Looking for a Crash Plan replacement
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Looking for a Crash Plan replacement

KuJoeKuJoe Member, Host Rep
edited October 2015 in General

So I've been using CrashPlan for close to 3 years without any major issues until two months ago. For some reason in the middle of each month for the past 3 months I've needed to completely uninstall and re-install CrashPlan on my computer but I don't know about this until I get the e-mail notice telling me I haven't had any backups for X days. I'm paying $59.99/year so I'd prefer to have a solution where I don't need to worry about.

I've installed the trial for BackBlaze since it's cheaper and offers similar features but the network is pretty slow compared to CrashPlan (which is pretty slow already) capping out at 1.02Mbps on my 1Gbps port.

I've looked into SyncThing and might give that a go on one of my spare servers but if it's anything like BTSync I'll pass.

My requirements: 1) Self provided encryption keys (I sleep better if only I have the keys to my files) 2) $60/year limit (I prefer to pay annually but monthly is fine also) 3) 200GB of storage (I only have ~80GB of data but CrashPlan has about 100GB of different versions) 4) File versioning (I want to be able to restore a file I edited a year ago) 5) Fast network speeds (CrashPlan usually gives me 10-20Mbps which is enough for restoring a few folders of text files and pictures but I've got a 1Gbps port to utilize so I'd like to use as much of it as possible).

I don't care if it's self hosted or not so any recommendation is appreciated. Thanks! :)

Comments

• rm_rm_ IPv6 Advocate, Veteran
    edited October 2015

KuJoe said: $60/year

KuJoe said: 200GB of storage