Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is it worthing paying for a "premium" DNS service?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Is it worthing paying for a "premium" DNS service?

Can anyone tell me if it's worth paying for a premium DNS hosting for a website where speed and uptime are critical, with a primarily US-based audience?

I have a website that currently uses Namecheap's free DNS servers, and I'm wondering if paying for something like ClouDNS would be worthwhile. This is unfortunately an area where I have little knowledge.

I also considered hosting my own DNS servers, but it seems like more trouble than it's worth.

Comments

• GM2015GM2015 Member
    edited August 2015

Don't want to sound like I like to kiss cloudflare's ass, but the two dns servers my site is on has almost zero dns look up time according to pingdom tools.pingdom./fpt. Much faster than digitalocean's servers. DO servers usually took 0.1-0.4 s to lookup on pingdom. PITA.

• It's a couple of years old now, but this page has some nice overview of what's going on. http://blog.cloudharmony.com/2012/08/comparison-and-analysis-of-managed-dns.html

There's clearly a few providers out there who can typically serve DNS requests in the ~50ms area.

Availability is obviously of high importance.

Other than that there's been research that consistenly correlates 'abandonment' (of sites and shopping carts) with higher load times. People are extremely impatient online, so whatever you're hosting you're likely to see some marginal gains if you can shave off a few ms in people discovering your IP via DNS. It will be a small margin though.