Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need help with MySQL to RAM situation
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Need help with MySQL to RAM situation

kenkeliskenkelis Member

Hello,

So, we have so you start 32Gb RAM server, and we run e-commerce shop on it with loads of querys to MySQL. I'm thinking why don't we put all MySQL data to RAM for better speed, that part ok, but I'm a php developer, need advice from sysadmin about this possible or not thing and tutorial for this magic.

Comments

• J1021J1021 Member

How large is your SQL database?

• Not sure about MySQL to RAM, but I can recommend upgrading to MariaDB - it's better in performance compared to MySQL especially when you are running a lot of queries in a short period of time.

• kenkeliskenkelis Member
    edited July 2015

@kcaj said:
    How large is your SQL database?

265,7 MiB x 3 DB's

@Verelox said:
    Not sure about MySQL to RAM, but I can recommend upgrading to MariaDB - it's better in performance compared to MySQL especially when you are running a lot of queries in a short period of time.

MySQL -> MariaDB it's option, but we have loads of free RAM ~30 to use, ant we pay for that, but still MySQL makes 120-150% load in CPU, the RAM is 2-10% used.

• AltAlt Member

@kenkelis as said by @Verelox, you should migrate to MariaDB 10.0.
    It would be a great idea to host your database on SSD, and maybe let the database cache do its work? You may have to tweak some parameters in MariaDB, your requests or your tables.

edited July 2015

@Alt said:
    kenkelis as said by Verelox, you should migrate to MariaDB 10.0.