Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Windows server 2012 r2 and Remote desktop
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Windows server 2012 r2 and Remote desktop

ahmiqahmiq Member
edited July 2015 in Help

Hello ,

I am sorry if my question is too stupid.

I have very little knowledge about how this would work so thought to ask here. So we have one server which has active directory and domain setup.

we installed another server and bought the Windows server 2012 r2 standard server licence for it.

After we put the server on the domain , and allowed the active users to authenticate to it , everything went well.

Today nobody could login through Remote desktop sessions because it said the there is a problem with the licence server on this machine. After researching i saw that , somehow to allow users to login via RD , there is a grace period of about 120 days or 90 days? and after that , some licence for RD needs to be installed.

My question is that , do we have to change some settings to activate this option or we need to buy some addon etc. and if another licence is required, what kind of licence do we need to purchase? We thought RDP sessions are included in the windows server 2012 r2 standard already.

Would be very thankful if someone could put me in the right direction for it.

Thanks alot.

Comments

• did you buy the license legit/get via provider? if by provider ask them to activate it. windows has no time limit only trial versions of windows have that.

• ahmiqahmiq Member

@TarZZ92 said:
    did you buy the license legit/get via provider? if by provider ask them to activate it. windows has no time limit only trial versions of windows have that.