Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Any tips on starting a shared web host?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Any tips on starting a shared web host?

wdqwdq Member
edited November 2012 in Help

I've been running websites for myself and friends for many years now. I've gone from shared hosts to virtual servers to dedicated servers so I know a lot about running websites.

LEB/LET has inspired me to create my own web hosting company and I plan to start by offering simple shared web hosting plans. Since I don't have much experience with billing/hosting control panels I'd like suggestions on how to setup and run everything because I know quite a few of you have much more experience.

I'm also interested in knowing what you guys are interested in as far as plans go. I was thinking about offering a 1GB of storage/10GB of bandwidth plan that supports one domain for $1/month.

Thanks for the tips.

Comments

• BlueVMBlueVM Member
    edited November 2012

Have the patience to wait a while for customers. Shared hosting is the hardest thing to sell in the market, everyone does it and that's usually a bad thing...

Take it from the guy who sells shared hosting at $5 per year, it's crowded.

• For a shared host, you're going to have to bring something unique to the table. There's thousands of shared hosts out there - you need to find a niche or offer something that not many other hosts offer.

• jarjar Patron Provider, Top Host, Veteran
    edited November 2012