Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Questions regarding VoIP
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Questions regarding VoIP

I am from Netherlands and Im new to this VOIP thing so I have a few questions:

1. What sort of number do you get by Asterisk?

2. How does another VOIP know where your server is by just the number? Is there some DNS thing going on?

3. Is it possible I call with VOIP on 3G?

4. Data plans are limited here. Does VoIP use alot of MB?

5. Is it possible I call with my VoIP to mobile number of friends (some of them use Vodafone, T-Mobile) and they call me?

6. Since my friends always use 06 to call me. Is it possible I add an 06 number to my VoIP?

7. What apps can you recommend me for VoIP? Using Android.

Sorry for so much questions. I really want to get more to know about VoIP and set it up on my VPS.

I know there are some Dutch fellows that use VoIP so if they can shine light about the 06 situation would be very awesome.

And thanks everyone for helping.

Comments

• You need to get a number from someone who has one. It's called a DID. Many VoIP providers are not CLEC's so they use numbers from some other numbering authority. You can get a free NY DID from Callcentric, or a Seattle number from IPKall. Most other's cost a little bit per month.

It sounds like you need to read up on telephone technology. I suggest you have a read on the VoIP Tech Chat forum where your questions will get expert answers:
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/voip