Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advice on Security
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Advice on Security

LeoKLeoK Member

I have a few small boxes that host a few hobby projects on. I am only a hobbyist so my knowledge of the best security practices is lacking. Any advice? or suggestions on tutorials?

Comments

• Set your root password to 'welcome' and make friends with everyone.

• LeoKLeoK Member

I will take that under advisement

• I'm joking of course, but imho 'security' has more to do with relations than technicalities.

Thanked by 1yomero
  • jarjar Patron Provider, Top Host, Veteran

First of all, please listen to no one who replies "Install CSF." This is a default/annoying firewall that has literally nothing to do with how most compromises occur.

Use keys, disable root SSH login, change default SSH port, keep all packages and applications up to date, block access to anything HTTP side that people don't need access to (for practical example, blocking script execution in an image folder could stop a ton of Joomla exploits, applicable theory for other purposes).

Those are my recommendations :)

Thanked by 2deadbeef matthewvz
  • hostnoobhostnoob Member
    edited April 2015

Installing unattended-upgrades on Debian based OSes will help with keeping packages up to date.

• LeoKLeoK Member
    edited April 2015

Thank you for the insight.

Matt that is definitely some sound advice, I have noticed reading posts on multiple sites most attacks seem to be personally motivated.

Jar, I have assumed that IPTables would be the preferred firewall? I have a couple horrible habits that you just mentioned. I know better. Thanks for the motivation.

hostnoob, just installed- thanks

Is Fail2ban effective?