Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need storage space. Is OVH the best deal?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Need storage space. Is OVH the best deal?

Hi guys,

I have been coming here for a few months now (great site!) as I am in the process of creating some backup software that will require some servers – Just to be clear, it will be a couple of months before I pull the trigger though… just getting my ducks in a row at the moment.

It’s an EU-based (I live in the UK) consumer-level secure online backup product called Arkisto (Finnish word for “archive”) and it’s only a few months away from beta (hopefully!) so I thought I better get asking about hosting. Also I have bought arkisto.uk and arkisto.eu but I haven’t decided what one to use… maybe both, I don’t know yet.

The data is encrypted on the client machine before storing it on the server so the client is the only person on earth that can decrypt the files!

The primary priority for hosting is disk space and I have been running the numbers and it appears that OVH offer the best value around with their backup servers – These ones here at https://ovh.co.uk/dedicated_servers/storage/.

However, I have a couple of questions for anyone out there that can help:

1. If I start small and then buy a bigger server will I be able to easily move data from one to the other, like, if I started with the FS-12T Atom server for the beta and then moved to a bigger one when the beta is done?
  2. Would a reseller be able to offer me a better deal than going direct with OVH?
  3. With the last server on that list, the FS-MAX, I am struggling to work out how the payment works. Is my understanding correct (let’s assume I start with 6 x 6TB disks)?