Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hosted Seafile or Alternatives?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Hosted Seafile or Alternatives?

decaydecay Member
edited February 2015 in General

I have posted a question here a while back regurding wanting a dropbox alternative for backing up and syncing my code/work/files etc. Im a programmer, and i work on a LOT of projects, and i have a huge amount of past projects. They arnt big in filesize, but theres thousands of smaller files etc. The main purpose is for cloud backups and to have all my computers always synced, so i can quickly swap computers and continue where i left off (or work from home, or work from work etc). Also nice to have access rights and sharing options so you can give others access to a folder/file if required, but thats not really a big deal.

I have tried solutions like owncloud and dropbox and gdrive which struggled to upload a large number of files as such.

Best solution i found was seafile. But since i started using it (year or so ago?), i have had many issues (always followed their guide and setup on my own VPS). There were couple of times where it just stopped syncing (or connecting alltogether), and theer is no logical reason why, no obvious error log. WTF right? And couple of times i realised that it wasent syncing some files, or folders (it didnt even throw any noticable error), and i only realised because i realised some of my code was lost(?), which was annoying.

Anyway, today i realised that my seafile client was not connected for last couple of days (no biggie), i had to load up the server and restart seafile and what not, but its causing the issue every so often again and again which is driving me nuts.

TL;DR;