Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need some help with private peering.
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Need some help with private peering.

0xdragon0xdragon Member
edited December 2014 in Help

Hey everyone,

So I need some help understanding this. Yes, I'm a newb. You can say it.

I've been provided the following diagram for configuring my network:

We have configured the network to allow you to BGP peer with us via RFC1918 addressing.

The routers at the top of the diagram are routers you can configure yourself.

This way you can use every address in the /28 range if you want to. 
No wasting addresses for broadcast or network addresses.

We have configured the servers the similarly as if it was being used for us
to install VMware ESXi.

Once installed VMware ESXi will see the network cards and storage
controller.

VMware uses a virtual ethernet switch which can do VLAN tagging. The VLAN
623 you need to use for external networking is in the diagram.

Basically, tell me what I'm missing here, and how I can install Debian on this blade server which I have been given, because I need a gateway IP for the installer.

Thanks,
0xdragon.

Comments

• Why would you want to do this? It doesn't seem to make sense.

Thanked by 1linuxthefish
  • @MarkTurner said:
    Why would you want to do this? It doesn't seem to make sense.

Mate, it doesn't make sense to me either. But this is seemingly how the network is being configured.

• What are actually doing?

Is this just a dedicated server and you want to get external access? failover external access?

Who came up with this?

• @MarkTurner said:
    What are actually doing?

Is this just a dedicated server and you want to get external access? failover external access?