Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Testing virtual hosts on VirtualBox how?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Testing virtual hosts on VirtualBox how?

zserozsero Member
edited July 2012 in General

I'm just learning configuring Debian/Nginx and I'd like to use a local Virtualbox machine with snapshots for the draft work. My problem is that I don't know how would it be possible to test the virtual host config, since all I have is an IP address.

Actually even an IP address + NAT is not easy, the only solution I came up with is to make 2 network interfaces in VBox:
1. for NAT
2. for host-only with fixed IP
Do you know any alternative? Afaik this is the easiest setup with VBox, what doesn't need port forwarding.

And for the real question, how do you make the virtual host forwarding work? The only idea I have is from this question, meaning directly editing the "hosts" file on the host. Is this a viable solution? Do you do this normally? Can I just enter any fake names and it will work?

Comments

• yomeroyomero Member
    edited July 2012

If I am understanding correctly, you've setup nginx in one of the virtual machines, then you want to know how to access via the IP address of the real machine?

Iptables stuff

http://www.hackorama.com/network/portfwd.shtml

Oh, also, "virtual hosts" is about web hosting, and doesn't have to do with "virtual machines"

• zserozsero Member
    edited July 2012

No I want to test "virtual host" configuration by running a Debian/Nginx server not in real world, but in virtualbox. I'd like to enter: http://vhost1 to on the vbox host to test the vhost1 website of my virtualbox guest.

• dnomdnom Member

then add vhos1 to your hosts file??

Thanked by 2yomero tux
  • zserozsero Member