Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

IPv4 VPS or IPv6 VPS?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

IPv4 VPS or IPv6 VPS?

Hello guys! I wanted to buy this VPS but since I'm a newbie there are some stuff I don't understand. When I try to buy it says "Attention, this is an IPv6 only server". I asked the support what are the implications of this and he replied with this: "You have a shared IPv4 (including 20 ports + a dedicated ssh port) instead of a dedicated one and 10 dedicated IPv6.".

What does this mean? What does it mean IPv4 with 20 ports? Can I run software that do not support IPv6 by using the shared IPv4 IP? How is it possible to share one IPv4 IP and at the same time to have a different IPv6?

Here is also some info from the VPS.

256MB Guaranteed RAM

15GB HDD Disk

1 CPU Core

1 NAT IPv4 (20 Ports) | 10 IPv6

TUN/TAP support

100mbs Unmetered Fair Share Port

DDoS Protected

Thanks in advance guys!

Comments

• NeoonNeoon Community Contributor, Veteran

Shared IPV4 means access to one Public IPV4 but you can only use a PortRange like 2100-20120 for your services so not usuable for E-Mail/DNS etc.
    But you get 10 Dedicated IPv6 where you can use all Ports...

Thanked by 1Issam2204
  • Thank you** Inifinity580**! So if I intend to use a program that supports only IPv4 and I set for it to work on the port 7500, and if this port is in the available port range, then it would theoretically work without any problem right?

• NeoonNeoon Community Contributor, Veteran

yeah, but you get problems with DNS etc..

Thanked by 1Issam2204
  • @Issam2204 said: