Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

XEN and OVZ and KVM, Burst, Swap, oh my!
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

XEN and OVZ and KVM, Burst, Swap, oh my!

evilknotevilknot Member
edited June 2012 in General

Hello All,

Frequent lurker here, really appreciate all of the hosting company participation.

I'm an experienced linux admin (~30 servers virtualized), but we do VMWare, and as such I'm unfamiliar with some of the terms.

I'm in the process of transitioning my side clients to VPS and having trouble comparing plans between providers where the virtualization technologies and terms are different.

For the benefit of others, can someone go over some of the pro/cons of the different virtualization technologies and what terms are equivalent?

Things I'm trying to figure out:
Are burst and swap the same? Should I care at all about anything but guaranteed RAM?
Some providers list the # of CPUs allocated your VM, some say nothing.
Which virutalization technologies discourage/prevent over-subscription?
Does 1GB XEN=1GB KVM=1GB OVZ?

I've googled around, but everything seems "salesy", written like a research paper, or a religious war.

Is there a cliff note lying around that my google-fu hasn't picked up?

PLEASE, let's not create a religious war here.

Thanks to all, it's always educational.

Cam

Comments

• we have balloon for Xen, KSM for KVM, and bla2pages for OVZ.. :D

i personally use KVM just because they use native kernel not like the others.

• @evilknot said: 1GB XEN=1GB KVM=1GB OVZ?