Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please Suggest me a server
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Please Suggest me a server

mobiboymobiboy Member

I want to make a video converter which converts pc movies into mobile format, me and my 8 other friends will convert movies, so please suggest me best dedicated server specifications like which processor will be suitable, what should be minimum ram, which storage method is preferred like Sata drive or SSD, that will give me best conversion speed, i am new to servers so any help will be appreciated alot :)

Comments

• wychwych Member
    edited July 2014

What video converter were you planning on using?

As its video I would say HDD over SSD as you will get much more space for your $.

Delimiters Dedicated offer is probably best, 4 cores (8HT), 16gb RAM and 500gb for $20/m I believe? @MarkTurner will know more.

• i will mostly use FFMpeg or mencoder, i just want to know which xeon processor are best for encoding, i got an option of Dual Xeon L5420 and Xeon E- 1230v2 but as i dont know much about processors i thought of asking for help here

• FrankZFrankZ Veteran
    edited July 2014

FYI the delimiter 5150 has 4 non hyper threading cores, not 8.
    Data shack has a special on dual 5420 for $29.

Dual Xeon 5420 (8 physical cores/8 Threads)
    8GB DDR3 RAM
    2x 250GB SATA Hard Drives
    FREE 100Mbit upgrade
    Any Linux Distribution
    Free DirectAdmin for Linux
    5 Usable IPv4 IP addresses
    /64 IPv6 Address Space
    Unmanaged

$0 Setup / $29 per month (Coupon Code save10)
    $0 Setup / $174 per 6 months (Coupon Code save10)
    $0 Setup / $290 per year (Coupon Code save10)

http://www.datashack.net/cart/?id=173

EDIT:Posted link details