Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Contingency plan
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Contingency plan

As a business owner myself, I have to think about what will happen if something happens to me. Short of the famous bus hitting me, there's a lot of things that could happen; hospitalization, memory loss, incapacitation, or (let's go out on a limb here) imprisonment. While I don't plan on all of these things to happen (least of all the imprisonment), these things could theoretically happen.

I'm lucky enough to have a wife and very caring parents around, who'd gladly jump in would anything happen to be, they wouldn't know what to do in that. I'm already planning to write a lengthy document which lays out what to do and everything, including passwords, etc. and put it in a fireproof safe. But I'm wondering; is there anything else I could do?

Any advice from business owners or people that have had the (unfortunate) experience of someone being unable to continue running their business (for whatever reason) is really appreciated.

Note: this is not an invitation to attack one-man-shows!

Thanked by 1sz1hosting

Comments

• @Jack said:

Thought you'd quit the VPS business :-P

• @Jack said:
    I did... Doesn't mean them trams aren't still getting in the way though.

Banning public transportation doesn't seem like a plan, though.

• @Jack said:
    I did... Doesn't mean them trams aren't still getting in the way though.

Don't think you have trams in Cumbria, do you live close to the Sellafield nuke plant? Seems like your grey matter is no doing too well.

• bitbit Member