Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

BGP - Router or L3 switch
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

BGP - Router or L3 switch

FRCoreyFRCorey Member
edited May 2012 in General

So I'm looking for a good Router or L3 switch to handle BGP, on a good price point. Able to do v6 and be able to accept a few thousand routes if needed.

I typically deal in the CRS3 routers and things of that size so I have very little knowledge on the lower end of the spectrum of what can do what.

Something that can handle 2-8 gigabit uplinks is what I'm looking for. Juniper/Cisco/Foundry

Anyone have experience with some of those soft routers you just install on a dedicated server?

Comments

• miTgiBmiTgiB Member

I use a old box in Los Angeles running Vyatta, supermicro dual 1gbit nic and a Intel 4 port 1gbit nic

model name : Dual-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 1210

tim@escapefromla:~$ show ip bgp sum
    BGP router identifier x.x.x.x, local AS number 6921
    RIB entries 11082, using 693 KiB of memory
    Peers 6, using 15 KiB of memory

Neighbor        V    AS MsgRcvd MsgSent   TblVer  InQ OutQ Up/Down  State/PfxRcd
    x.x.x.x   4 29761  416213  416420        0    0    0 05w4d18h        1
    x.x.x.x  4 65511  136829  136942        0    0    0 03w2d03h        0
    x.x.x.x  4  6921  271182  271260        0    0    0 14w2d16h Active
    x.x.x.x  4  6921  171001  149563        0    0    0 01w4d04h        0
    x:x::1    4  6921   32786    1396        0    0    0 14w4d18h Active
    x:x::1
                    4 29761  149354  149398        0    0    0 13w4d20h        0
    tim@escapefromla:~$ uptime
     21:53:11 up 288 days, 23:49,  2 users,  load average: 0.02, 0.01, 0.00