Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hourly mySQL Backups
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Hourly mySQL Backups

BellaBella Member
edited March 2014 in Help

Hi.

I am currently looking for a way to take automatic hourly mySQL Backups and daily /var/www/ backups.

Can someone point me in the right direction.

I am still a newbie when it comes to backups.

I would like to store both a local copy on the server it's self, and a remote copy on another server.

Thanks

By the way, it would be great if the file names indicated the time/date it was taken.

Comments

• AlexanderMAlexanderM Member, Top Host, Host Rep

MySQL Dump, then rsync.

• Are the databases large? MySQL backups can have quite a hit on performance. If you need hourly backups, replicating the MySQL server to a slave may be a better option.

• RadiRadi Host Rep, Veteran

Google for how to do it with a cron job.

• @imtiax said:
    Hi.

I am currently looking for a way to take automatic hourly mySQL Backups and daily /var/www/ backups.

Can someone point me in the right direction.

I am still a newbie when it comes to backups.

I would like to store both a local copy on the server it's self, and a remote copy on another server.

Thanks

By the way, it would be great if the file names indicated the time/date it was taken.

This script is easy to use: http://sourceforge.net/projects/automysqlbackup/

however as @mpkossen MySQL backups can have a performance hit on a large database and it may be necessary to replicate to a slave and take backups from the slave.

• Can't you just tar.gz /var/www/ and /var/lib/mysql/ then upload them?

• BellaBella Member

@mpkossen said: