Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VPN and Ping?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

VPN and Ping?

VPNshVPNsh Member, Host Rep
edited April 2012 in General

Hey guys, just wondering.. what, if any, impact does your ping to the server which you're using as a VPN make?

Example:

2 servers. 1 within 50 miles from my home. 1 on the other side of the globe.
Ping to server near home < 50ms
Ping to other side of globe <400ms

If they both have similar speeds going through, what difference does this make?

Yes, I am a noob, go easy on me :P

Cheers

Comments

• The maximum speed of a single TCP connection is limited by the receiving end's TCP window (i.e. buffer) and the RTT

MaxSpeed <= Rwin / RTT

Thanked by 1VPNsh
  • Ping =
    Latency from Home to VPN + Latency from VPN to server.

Therefore. If you're 200ms away from the VPN, and the server close to your home is 150ms from your VPN, your resulting ping would be roughly 350ms.

200 + 150 = Ping.

• MrAndroidMrAndroid Member
    edited April 2012

@ElliotJ said: Ping =

Latency from Home to VPN + Latency from VPN to server.

Therefore. If you're 200ms away from the VPN, and the server close to your home is 150ms from your VPN, your resulting ping would be roughly 350ms.

200 + 150 = Ping.

Although OpenVPN compresses packets, which helps, I doubt it helps the ping. Though I may be wrong?

• InfinityInfinity Member, Host Rep

@Daniel said: I doubt it helps the ping

I'm not sure what exactly helps the ping but something does, I don't know how compressed packets would help ping but ping for me through my VPN is certainly lower than my ping to the server + servers ping to the other server. Black magic?