Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Building a computer, need suggestions - Page 2
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Building a computer, need suggestions

Comments

• I have been doing this for a living for a very long time, way before I got involved in web hosting. I would recommend to go for a 2600K if you can get it for less, a ASUS P8Z68-V PRO Gen 3 motherboard, skip the Corsair SSD and get either Intel, Samsung, Crucial or Plextor. You will get the best performance out of DDR3 1333, and most of it is as cheap as DDR3 1066, and you haven't mentioned anything about your PSU. What kind is it?

• MopsyMopsy Member
    edited March 2012

The Corsair SSD is something he already owns. Why would he get better performance out of 1333MHz RAM over 1600MHz?

• KairusKairus Member
    edited March 2012

@Mopsy said: Why would he get better performance out of 1333MHz RAM over 1600MHz?

This totally depends on the ram. Increasing the clock speed of memory means you have to lower the timings. So you should be able to find 1333mhz ram with lower timings than 1600mhz. The jump from 1333mhz -> 1600mhz isn't a big performance jump, but in some cases, the latency drop could be a good performance increase, that's why a few posts up I recommended some CAS latency 7 1600mhz ram.

@Mopsy the ram you linked has some pretty bad timings. As I linked above op, if you want 16gb of ram, get these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231442