Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Thoughts on VPS vs. Shared
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Thoughts on VPS vs. Shared

edited March 2012 in Help

Hey everyone. So, I run several (4 - 5) websites on a single shared host. A few of the sites have had increased traffic over the past few months, though concurrent users is still probably relatively low. I've noticed some degradation in performance, and started thinking about a VPS. The issue is, I'm not a developer, just someone who can set up shared stuff through cPanel, install and modify Wordpress sites, etc. I certainly can't do security stuff, etc, on an un-managed VPS. Hence, I was thinking of just sticking with the shared host, despite their lack of upgrades. A managed VPS is out of the budget, unless there is some wicked cheap options I am not currently aware of. Thoughts?

Comments

• For the most part setting up your own cpanel or kloxo node is really easy and 99.99% of all issues can be googled.

• Have you thought of going with a different shared hosting provider, might find better performance with a higher quality host. Another option is getting a VPS + a cPanel license, but that'll increase your costs by quite a bit.

• Yea I mean, I've used cPanel and am proficient with it, but I worry about server security or more technical things like that. I hadn't considered a different shared host - do you know of any that have like...different tiers kind of like a VPS?

• KairusKairus Member
    edited March 2012

@Joelrockbottomhosts said: do you know of any that have like...different tiers kind of like a VPS?