Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Cluess why VPS offline 3 times?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Cluess why VPS offline 3 times?

bustersgbustersg Member
edited May 23 in Help

Provider says server node ok and I did not hit threshold.
Asked me to check my own VPS processes instead

Offline always happen at 5.2xam++ and the nearest cron job i suspect is a 5.10am daily rsync bash script 20GB data backup (via 5 rsync command) to mounted iDrive-e2 (yes I mounted to the linux VPS)
But odd thing is offline issue happened on alternate days (see grafana) and my backup DOES sync to iDrive successfully because i logged in iDrive and checked the bucket timestamp.

Furthermore, as a IT engineer myself, I don't believe a mounted drive on a VPS could cause it to go offline. The network I/O and metrics are healthy.

grafana-3-offline

Solution: since this happened 3rd time, I moved the cron earlier by 2 hours and shall check the next offline if concide with the change. I will also consolidate the 5 rsync job (diff DIRs) into 1 rsync command.

Comments

• Lack of whipping.

• thanethane Member
    edited May 23

Sounds like it's the backup job for sure. I faced similar issues before, the fix for me was setting swapiness to 0 (because I noticed swapping occuring during backups that had load spikes) and reduced concurrent backups running to 1. Consider if your VPS is underpowered for the backup as well, it may need more CPU if that's what's bottlenecking, hard to tell what's bottlenecking since your monitor blacks out during the crashes, probably locked up from whatever is bottlenecking and causing CPU to max out).

• bustersgbustersg Member