Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Seeking advice for sending my first server to a colocation
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Seeking advice for sending my first server to a colocation

Next week, I will be sending my first server to a colocation facility. I've never used this type of service before, but due to specific location and configuration requirements, I had to opt for colocation.

My question is: What precautions should I take when sending my server? Should I record the serial numbers of all my hardware? Any tips?

Comments

• lnxlnx Member, Patron Provider

Record the serial number(s), take pictures to document the condition of the server, and pack well. The servers are heavy and will not be treated well. I often receive boxes that are barely intact.

• jordijordi Member, Patron Provider

As indicated, take photos of your servers for serial status so that you have proof that they are yours.

Regarding parcels, I would recommend that if it is local, take it yourself with FedEx, among others, it does not matter how fragile it is.

Good luck and don't worry, the most important thing is where you have your servers, it is a trustworthy company and you know that your servers will not be left with a deadpol.

We have our servers hosted at @hivelocity from the first moment they treated us very well and the treatment is always good

Thanked by 2lnx HivelocityRick
  • jfreak53jfreak53 Member, Patron Provider

@lnx said:
    Record the serial number(s), take pictures to document the condition of the server, and pack well. The servers are heavy and will not be treated well. I often receive boxes that are barely intact.