Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hosting (Colocation) My first 1U server
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Hosting (Colocation) My first 1U server

Hey,
I'm currently hosting around 30 websites (static and wordpress) at home,
on an old i7-7700K machine of mine which I turned into a server.

I host those websites for my clients (I am a web developer) and they don't really have a lot of traffic, so it works so far.
I got a 1Gbps port. CloudLinux OS, and my clients don't have panel access.

I am thinking of Getting a new server:
2x Xeon E5 2696 v4
4x 16GB DDR4 EEC 2400
2x 1TB NVMe (Raid 01)
And have it collocated in a local DC to expand operations, make it more "secure", and give clients more freedom like panel access.

Now I watched some 1U assembling videos, and they use network cards, and those PCIe cards with fiber ports, etc..
Do I really need all this if I get a regular X99 board with built in 1Gbps port?

If its just building the unit and taking it to the DC then I will handle it,
But is there anything else maybe that I don't know about? any tips?

Also a side question,
if I get a separate home network (for commercial use so I don't run into problems with ISP)
Can I host the server at home? assume that I have stable electricity and backup
I am more concerned about security risks, so I'm wondering whether its possible to host it using a regular $100-$150 router and not have all the commercial grade networking equipment that they got down in the datacenters.

Comments

• DartNodeDartNode Member, Patron Provider
    edited March 18

I really wouldn't recommend home hosting anything for commercial purposes. I'm not saying it can't be done - but ultimately it's worth doing right by your customers.