Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How can I use my own ASN and IPv6 to create a network for my organization?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

How can I use my own ASN and IPv6 to create a network for my organization?

Hello all,

I am quite new to BGP and network level concepts. I am looking to make use of my own ASN and IPv6 to implement the following requirement.

What I have?

• I have a RIPE registered ASN for my organization and two /48 IPv6 subnets (yet to be announced).
  • I have 4 VPS with free BGP sessions (all in EU location).
  • I have 5 VDS from various providers and I access them using the IPv4/IPv6 address allocated by respective providers. Out of the 5 VDS, 2 are publicly accessible servers and rest of them are only accessed among each other internally. Not sure if the providers allow BYOIP, even if they do, I wont be able to afford to pay if premiums are high (I am already maxed out).

What I need?

• My end goal is to use my organization's designated IPv6 address to reach my 5 VDS's instead of using the IP's provided to me by the respective providers. By doing this I am expecting to have a more secure and documented firewall/network infra. restricting access to my Org's IPv6.
  • A free monitoring tool to help me keep an eye on the status of my announced IP's and its operability.

Is this possible? Sorry if this was asked already, I was only able to find generalized answers upon searching.

I have a lot of time and less money to spend, so I am looking to implement this by myself learning stuffs along the way. Help is much appreciated. Have a great day.

Comments

• wiggywiggy Member, Host Rep

I suggest asking your LIR all these questions.