Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Transactional emails ses, mxroute, mailchimp or self hosting?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Transactional emails ses, mxroute, mailchimp or self hosting?

I have in the past setup mail servers multiple times with dkim, spf, the whole shebang on vps.

This time for an ecommerce magento store I need to do the same but I am wondering if I should use an external service for it. Maintaining a mail server that ensures high deliverability is a pain & I am no expert. Sometimes when I read @jarland using multiple methods to ensure high deliverability it seems like a lot of work with a huge learning curve.

This ecommerce store I am setting up will have an extremely low email throughput but at times of high engagement via ad/social media camapigns the numbers can spike & I dont want to loose out on customers just bcoz emails go to spam or worse are rejected straight away during those peaks.

What are your thoughts on the matter ? I have a plethora of idling vps that I can setup as smtp relays but I fear the host deadpooling or worse changing my ip without notice only to get stuck in a blacklist. If self hosting is not the way to go then which service should I opt for keeping in view possible sudden spikes in email that need instant delivery(think email/username verifications) & cannot be cron-ed for later while having fewer than 10k emails a month I guess.

Any input is welcome.

Comments

• MikeAMikeA Member, Patron Provider
    edited November 2023

Honestly if it's for ecommerce and you need guaranteed delivery I'd feel the safest sticking with SES for outgoing/transactional mail. It's super cheap anyway.