Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Lost guy with network performance issues on his new VPSs (long story)
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Lost guy with network performance issues on his new VPSs (long story)

Hi everyone! I'm kinda new here, just wanna find someone to talk about some things that I'm kinda struggling right now.
I'm also quite new to buying VPS. In the past few years I have been sticking to my very first provider which is netcup, a VPS 200 G8 iv, to run my personal blog, and that only 1 VPS only. I made the decision to switch provider after discovering LET, and also come up with plans to play around with cloud stuffs since I graduated and had a job now (have income).

Last month I cancelled netcup and have purchased the following VPS:
1. Crunchbits: US, yearly 4.5G x1 - for personal blog
2. Crunchbits: US, Big Storage 2T x1 - for cloud storage, still deciding between owncloud, pydio, alist

Soon after, I realised that the network is too slow when acceding from my home, I'm only getting 10-20MBPS between my home internet and the crunchbit VPS. I don't know why their looking glass is at least 50MBPS when I tested. No matter how I test, iperf or sftp or what, the speed to my VPS is only 10-20MBPS. I felt kinda disappointed about this...

Hence, I came up with another plan: buy another small VPS in Asia (near Malaysia which I'm located) and reverse proxy to my storage VPS at crunchbits. After several days of digging, I went for Speedypage's Singapore 1G VPS. Again, the looking glass download this time around is 100MBPS (my ISP line full speed), but heck, I'm only getting 10-30MBPS when accessing the VPS... What's the issue? I can't quite understand this.......