Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[OPEN SOURCE] Making Benchmark Tool
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

[OPEN SOURCE] Making Benchmark Tool

Hey! I'm a HS student whom is also a server operations enthusiast and I've lurked here for quite a while. A friend recommended me to do a cool open source project that I'd like to get this community's thoughts on!

From my research, I haven't found a good all-in-one open source server/PC benchmark tool and I was considering making one, but I'm unsure of what to include in it.

It'd be in Rust (I've been wanted to do more projects with it regardless) and I'd love to know what I should try to include and some references to get the jump on it!

I'm working with a few people whom have experience with the field, but suggestions are welcome.

(as well as if this exists... don't want to make a huge project only for one to exist already; I know about YABS but assumed that was mainly file performance testing)

I also wanted to make this tool for personal computers as well, rather than focusing on just servers. I haven't found anything that's open source for personal PCs, so.

Comments

• Do you have any info how you measure the performance?
    Since there no sight of geekbench gonna be support musl at moment. I looking forward for this project!

• I haven't found a good all-in-one open source server/PC benchmark tool

Phoronix Test Suite exists from 2010, can benchmark everything, runs on Mac/Windows/Linux and is open source.
    https://openbenchmarking.org/

• It starts with what problem you want to solve, if there are already tools for that, then what improvements you could bring.

Thanked by 1Liso
  • What’s wrong with geekbench ?

• tentortentor Member, Patron Provider

@jmaxwell said: