Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help understanding Racknerd reducing my cores from 4 to 1.
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Help understanding Racknerd reducing my cores from 4 to 1.

KmaidKmaid Member
edited August 2023 in General

I'm relatively new to server administration, and I've been managing a couple of VMs with Racknerd. However, this morning, I received a notification about downtime. Upon checking my emails, I learned that my CPU core count had been reduced to 1 due to overutilization.

When I accessed my grafana account and reviewed the host information, I came across this screenshot: https://imgur.com/a/rZyCaq5. It's evident that around midnight, there was a sudden spike in CPU Steal, reaching 40%. I believe this might have been caused by watchtower updating containers and quickly returning to normal levels. Over the past two weeks, my load average stayed around 15%, significantly below the maximum 30% utilization mentioned in the email.

I'm unsure whether I'm unintentionally straining their system or if this was a momentary excessive usage. Could this situation have arisen because other users sharing the same machine also experienced usage spikes simultaneously, making it challenging to pinpoint which VM was primarily responsible? Any advice on how to avoid this in the future? I asked support who just enabled my cores again without providing me much help to avoid this other than monitor my system which I am already doing :neutral:

Thanks

Comments

• Its just been suspended again :cry: grafana node exporter reporting 80% usage with 7.5% steal. #HG06098 and #XM36353. Could you help me @dustinc

• AlexBarakovAlexBarakov Patron Provider, Veteran

Has your bandwidth been doubled?

• it has :grimace: