Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Dacentec SMTP inspection / man in the middle for all customers?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Dacentec SMTP inspection / man in the middle for all customers?

Anyone have experience with Dacentec?

I have been colocating with them for 4 months now and recently changed my IP allocation, the old IPs I never had issues with Gmail marking emails as not encrypted in transit. Then I changed IPs to a new block; and that seems to be behind an SMTP proxy that I can't escape.

This is a weird practice, they said they would not disable this SMTP proxy and told me to buy services from a mail relay service. My anecdotal evidence is that the original IP block I was given did not have this issue but since I changed IPs it is now evident a proxy exists.

Comments

• Not really a weird practice, it's pretty common to block or limit outgoing email.

Thanked by 1jsg
  • Then I changed IPs to a new block; and that seems to be behind an SMTP proxy that I can't escape.

I'm kinda curious why you had to change IPs :D

Did the provider notify you before purchase of the new IP segment about the SMTP limitations or proxy implementation?

Usually SMTP limitations are not on the network but rather software enforced e.g. between webserver and postfix, so this is new to me and prone to bad shit.

• So I would say the first thing you should do to check the TOS you signed, if it states that such a system is implemented then I am sad to inform you, you are SOL. You where probally lucky with your previous ip allocation that might have been older and as such not had that setup done.

Honestly though I would just get a service like mxroute or similar as there pretty cheap and are much easier way to send e-mails.