Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How do I port forward through a VPS?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

How do I port forward through a VPS?

I am looking for guidance on how to achieve port forwarding through my low-end VPS, which I currently use as a wireguard VPN (PiVPN). I want to torrent but my home connection is behind a CGNAT so other peers in the swarm can't make connections to me. Could anyone please advise me on how to do this? I am a novice so detailed guidance would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• TimboJonesTimboJones Member
    edited June 2023

Uh, use your VPN at home instead of on the VPS?

• If you are already able to use wiregaurd then some UDP port is open in your VPS, or do you mean SSH tunneling? Sorry if I did not understand your question.

• Correct me if I am wrong, you can set up torrent server on your VPS. Any torrent transfers will be made to/from your VPS?

You could also just set up a wireguard server and have your home client devices connect to it and browse as normal? At least that is what I am using right now.

• FrankZFrankZ Veteran
    edited June 2023

Since you gave no network or O/S info, in my example below 172.19.4.254 is the tunnel endpoint at your VPS and 172.19.4.1 is the tunnel endpoint on you local server. 66.66.66.66 is your VPS external IP and the local service you wish to serve from is running on 172.19.4.1. The wireguard interface is "wg0" and the network adapter on the VPS is "eth0"

On the local server and the VPS make sure forwarding is enabled. To check use:

sysctl net.ipv4.ip_forward

if you get the response

net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1

your good to forward traffic from the tunnel. If you get

net.ipv4.ip_forward = 0

Then forwarding is not enabled. To enable