Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need help with port forwarding on PiVPN
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Need help with port forwarding on PiVPN

I have successfully set up a VPS with PiVPN, and I am interested in using it to forward certain ports from my computer, which is currently located behind a CG NAT. I would greatly appreciate it if someone could guide me through the necessary steps to accomplish this task. As a complete novice, any additional details and explanations would be immensely helpful. Thank you!

Comments

• r4h156r4h156 Member

Try iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -p [tcp/udp] --dport [port to forward] -j DNAT --to-destination [computer's IP address on VPN interface]:[same port] for each port you want to forward. TCP and UDP are done separately.

iptables rules do not persist upon reboot, so install iptables-persistent (this will automatically save the rules). If you change them in the future, run sudo iptables-save > /etc/iptables/rules.v4 to save the changes.

• psychobacterpsychobacter Member
    edited June 2023

@r4h156 said:
    Try iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -p [tcp/udp] --dport [port to forward] -j DNAT --to-destination [computer's IP address on VPN interface]:[same port] for each port you want to forward. TCP and UDP are done separately.

iptables rules do not persist upon reboot, so install iptables-persistent (this will automatically save the rules). If you change them in the future, run sudo iptables-save > /etc/iptables/rules.v4 to save the changes.

What is the syntax if I want to do it for a range of ports? Also, how do I find my computer's IP on the VPN interface?

• r4h156r4h156 Member

@psychobacter said: What is the syntax if I want to do it for a range of ports?