Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

reliablesite OS install issues
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

reliablesite OS install issues

j3rj3r Member
edited April 2023 in Providers

Preface: I'm an old tech guy, so I don't know everything, but I know linux and so on. @MrRadic I love your specs and prices, but your IPMI is broken on linux, I cannot use it (I've even tried installing with java running on a windows vm and also failed. I want to install the OS via my own ISO). The only thing I need fixed on your service is the ability to reinstall a modern OS easily (I mean, a JS console would also be nice, but I can live without it). I would host multiple servers with you if we could fix this. I don't always get the install right, and I like to test different configs when setting up a new server, I can't open a ticket each time, and last time my server was provisioned by support with only one out of 2 disks used.

Ability to easily deploy an OS with simple RAID or partitions like OVH would make you instantly somewhere I can direct many clients to.

I like your platform for myself for messing around, but it has to work better if you want to really kick ass. I say this because I like your style, I wouldn't bother otherwise.

Comments

• MrRadicMrRadic Patron Provider, Veteran
    edited April 2023

Mentioned this over ticket, I'm not sure what you want to achieve by calling me out in public.

I'm not sure what I can do for you. It's SuperMicro's IPMI on an older server and only supports Java. There's nothing I can do to make it Linux more compatible with Java and there's nothing I can do to make SuperMicro update the IPMI on that specific configuration to work with more than just Java.