Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

why so many providers have 1GB ram as main production?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

why so many providers have 1GB ram as main production?

sorry I am a developer so have this question. I don't know what can do for 1GB ram today.
Most modern compilers and frameworks (ruby, go, node, rust...) need 2GB+ ram to run.
And even some libraries can't be installed for less than 2GB ram (tensorflow, k8s etc).
So, how you guys use those 1GB box? with perl CGI?

Thanks.

Comments

• And if you use those data stacks from Apache (spark, hudi, drill etc) they will start from 4GB.

• BTW, I did get a 1GB box from a special offer. I only use it to ping to my other servers for health monitoring. :)

• brueggusbrueggus Member, IPv6 Advocate

1GB is plenty of memory for most tasks. I don't compile on my VPS and don't use bloated frameworks. Rust binaries, for example, have a pretty small memory footprint.

If you want to run a k8s cluster, a 1GB VPS is the wrong choice, obviously.

• niknik Member, Host Rep

I don't understand the question. Compile your Go project locally and run the binary on a VM, 1GB gets you really far with Go, Rust, and even Node.

Thanked by 3yoursunny nick_ bdl
  • @nik said:
    I don't understand the question. Compile your Go project locally and run the binary on a VM, 1GB gets you really far with Go, Rust, and even Node.

I only use cloud env for dev stuff.

• Your question stupid.
    My answer will be even worst: because people (customers) need these plans.
    Questions?

• emgemg Veteran

This is all personal opinion, not absolute fact. Okay?