Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Opinions of Hetzner dedicated auction servers for serving US client websites
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Opinions of Hetzner dedicated auction servers for serving US client websites

I've been looking for a cheap dedicated server to consolidate a batch of US clients I have and host their websites. I'm NOT a hosting provider, but I do consulting and some of my clients just ask me to host them to make their lives easier as well.

They don't need any control panels or complex config, just simple reliable WordPress or static sites. I don't enjoy the stress of hosting them, but it's part of the consulting service I provide sometimes, and these small clients are not hosting-savvy, only know how to post in WordPress (at best), and they are good people with no issues with content/abuse. So I just do it for them.

So currently, these particular sites are spread around some extra VPS instances I have in the US, and an ancient dedicated server that I want to shut down.

I ran across the Hetzner auction servers and thought they might work fine and be a good deal too, but I have no idea if the network performance and reliability from Germany (FSN1 datacenter) is good for US website visitors, which will make up the majority of my clients audiences.