Doesn't Hetzner wipe cloud servers when deleted??
Well this is a bit worrying for me now. Recently I had a cloud server I was using with dokku so the hostname of the server was dokku.botta.me, where botta.me is my personal domain.
On this server I had configured Fail2ban to send me email notifications using Postfix, which itself was configured to use OhMySMTP as SMTP relay.
That server was deleted weeks ago perhaps, can't remember when for sure.
A hour ago I received an email notification from Fail2ban from dokku.botta.me AND checking the email headers I can see it was sent using OhMySMTP.
How the hell is this possible? I would assume the cloud servers are destroyed/wiped automatically upon deletion but this doesn't seem to be the case because otherwise I wouldn't have another explanation.
It's extremely unlikely that someone would use my personal domain with that exact hostname AND have Postfix configured to use the exact same SMTP service at the same time.
Now I am worried that the server might still contain sensitive data like passwords and other, because I probably didn't delete anything there assuming that the cloud server and its storage would be destroyed automatically.
I contacted Hetzner support and am waiting for a reply.
Has anything like this happened to others before?