Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Cheap, Reasonable Hosting For My Scenario?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Cheap, Reasonable Hosting For My Scenario?

Hi everyone! Glad to be here :)

I'm trying to figure out what direction to go re: hosting for a series of musician Wordpress-based websites

My background: I grew up coding as a kid, I'm a professional musician these days. I still consider myself an amateur coder, and generally am the person in the friend group that people call on to do tech-things – be it setting up computers, repairing hardware, recovering files, etc.

I know my way around Wordpress decently. I used to know my way around Linux pretty well. I've never managed a server myself, but I generally understand core concepts.

I previously was hosting a number of music on iPage for $24 / year, for a few small projects. None of these projects have huge fan-bases yet, but are hoping to grow.

It ran okay. It was slow at times. iPage customer service was iffy at replying. I cancelled with them after they tried to start charging me far, far more than that several years in, with no warning – about a 1,000% increase

My goal is to be able to:

Deploy somewhere between 3 and 20 Wordpress musician websites, using the Sonaar.io theme that I have purchased, something looking a bit like this – https://sonaar.io/demos/?theme=Indigo

Keep the costs down. I want to pay the minimum sensible in this scenario. Trying to max out at about $50 / year, but the cheaper the better, so long as the following goals are somewhat met

Have them load smoothly, efficiently, on average internet connections