Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Picking a VPS to degoogle myself and go selfhosted, using cloudron
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Picking a VPS to degoogle myself and go selfhosted, using cloudron

qwinterqwinter Member

I'm a total newbie in picking VPS. I'm trying to degoogle myself and go selfhosted. I run a small company but I want to do this for my personal domain ($myname.com) first as I'm one of those looking for GSuite Free Legacy Alternatives.

I can spend money to have something as close to 'set and forget' as possible.

I'm not in a hurry to move, but I want to do it right.

I've learned that cloudron can be a good solution for this, and this is what I'm aiming to implement (LMK if that's a bad idea). I need to replace most of google services with selfhosted stuff, and I want to run a couple of low traffic, private nodebb forums). Cloudron has email solutions. But then my email will come out of my VPS, which could be its own set of problems (IP reputation etc). I know about dnswl.org but I'm not sure I need this; I don't think I send that much mail. For the nodebb forums I require excellent deliverability. Perhaps I need a 3rd party smtp instead of my own cloudron server?

I'm in Germany so EU location would be my choice. DDoS protection a plus.

I discarded Hetzner (otherwise really good offers!) because I read here that their IPs are not great for mail.

Suggestions? I know hosting email is a pain. So perhaps clean IPs are not a good requirement, and I should just use a 3rd party like mxroute. I'm a desktop linux user for 20 years but I don't really have the bandwidth to babysit servers (hence cloudron). Considering to host multiple apps on one beefy VPS (8gb ram). Leaning towards racknerd because of LET.