Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Interests in Home Hosting?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Interests in Home Hosting?

sodinnersodinner Member
edited March 2022 in General

Hello all,
I am a very passionate growing sysadmin, that is interesting in servers and hosting in general.
Starting with my homelab I had a dying HP G5 Server, which had CPUs that had hard time even running a simple vanilla minecraft server :D
It's about some years now from there, I have a G7 Server (two bottom ones), that meets absolute my requirements. I use them for my homelab, nextcloud, exchange mail server and other projects for friends and fam.
And recently I bought some really nice G8 Servers (G8 up to G10 are pretty similar).
These are the top 4 ones. They have total of 1024GB RAM and two of these Servers have top of the line processors for this socket (2* 12c / 24t = 48t at 2.7GHz).
Now I have a bunch of those servers at my home. The Image that you see, is a bit old.
With the time going, I took the backup NAS into other floor, bought some UPS for the servers.
As I am an Germany and they have really bad Internet offers, I got a Gigabit Down but only about 50 Mbit Upload speed.
And my question now is, if there is a general interests in a "home hosting"?

Yes, I know that with colocation it would be much easier and I am on my way to find some partner for this. But the options that I saw online, were from 100+€ for ONE 2U Server, that's ridiculous! Or the bandwidth was just limited to 1-4TB (and the price was still very expensive).
I am on my search for a good colocation in Germany, but it will take some time.